TechTalk

The latest tech reviews and inspiration from Currys

How to delete your Snapchat account

Get rid of the photo-sharing app with our easy guide.

tips-and-updates

Article Main Image

Ready to snap out of using Snapchat? Maybe you’ve got too much stuff clogging up your phone. You’re getting bored of the app (and none of your mates use it anymore). Or, you’re just getting your social kicks from other platforms like TikTok or Instagram now. Whatever it is, there are plenty of reasons why deactivating or deleting an app like Snapchat is a good idea.

Whether you want to take time off from Snapchat or even permanently delete your account — our step-by-step guide breaks it all down…

How to download and back up your Snapchat data

Before you rush into wiping Snapchat from your smartphone or tablet, you should think about backing up your data first. After all, people use Snapchat to capture and share all those fun and special moments. So, you might want to store those old photos or videos that you’ve saved in ‘Memories’ somewhere first — otherwise they’ll be lost forever.

To download and back up your Snapchat data, you’ll need to make sure you’ve got a verified email address to send your data to.

If you’re on PC

The quickest and easiest way to download and back up your Snapchat data is to do it with a PC or laptop. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

  1. Open up accounts.snapchat.com in your internet browser.

  2. Log in to your Snapchat account.

  3. Under the ‘Manage My Account’ section, click on the ‘My Data’ button.

  4. Enter and confirm your email address at the bottom of the page.

  5. Click on the ‘Submit Request’ button.

  6. You’ll receive an email from Snapchat with a download link.

  7. Click on the link to download your Snapchat data.

  8. A ZIP file called ‘My Data’ will appear in your computer’s ‘Downloads’ folder.

  9. Right-click to unzip the folder and choose where to save your data.

If you’re on Android or iOS

Haven’t got your laptop to hand? No problem, you can back up your data on your mobile instead — whether it’s an Android smartphone or an iPhone. And it’s a snappy process too:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap on your ‘Settings’.

  2. Scroll down and click the ‘My Data’ button at the bottom.

  3. You’ll then get an overview of all the data Snapchat can send to you.

  4. Scroll down and tap the ‘Submit Request’ button.

  5. Open up your email app and click on the link Snapchat has sent you.

  6. You’ll then have to log into your Snapchat account on your phone’s web browser.

  7. After you’ve logged in, you can download the ZIP file containing your data.

Top tip: Make sure that your phone has enough storage space to save the ZIP file — as it could be pretty big! Not all smartphones can unzip files either. So, it might be better to open the download link email from a PC or laptop later to save your data.

How do I delete my Snapchat account permanently?

Can you permanently delete Snapchat from your device? Yes — but there’s a catch. After you’ve followed the steps to delete your account, Snapchat will kick off a 30-day deactivation period. This means that your data will be safe for 30 days before Snapchat start wiping it from their servers. So, if you have a change of heart within those 30 days — just log back in to reactivate your Snapchat account.

If you are really set on binning off Snapchat, don’t log into your account during the deactivation period. And while it’s deactivated, your friends won’t be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat either. Once the 30 days are up, your account will be gone for good.

If you’re on Android or web

Let’s cut to the chase — you can’t delete your Snapchat account with the Android app. Yeah, it’s annoying but not the end of the world. The simplest way to get rid of your Snapchat account is to use a web browser on your PC or laptop and follow these instructions:

  1. Enter accounts.snapchat.com in your browser.

  2. Log in to your Snapchat account.

  3. Work your way down the ‘Manage My Account’ page and click on ‘Delete My Account’.

  4. Type in your username and password to confirm you’re happy, then click ‘Continue’.

  5. The 30-day deactivation period will begin.

If you’re on iOS

Unlike the Android app, you can permanently delete your Snapchat account from the app for iPhone or iPad. No laptop or PC required! Here are the easy steps:

  1. Enter the app and tap on the gear icon to open your settings.

  2. Scroll down to ‘Account Actions’ and click on 'Delete Account'.

  3. Enter your username and password, then tap the ‘Continue’ button.

  4. The 30-day deactivation period will start.

How do I deactivate Snapchat?

Fully deleting a social media account can be scary. Some people like to deactivate one or more of their accounts so that they can take a break from them. This means that they know they can just reactivate them later on and not lose any data.

You can deactivate your Snapchat account whenever you like, but you’ll only have 30-day cycles at a time. If you don’t log back into your account in those 30 days, then it’ll be deleted and gone forever. So, it’s a risky thing to do! If you do want to deactivate your account for up to 30 days — follow our instructions in the sections above.

How do I reactivate Snapchat?

If you’ve followed the steps for deleting your Snapchat account, then you’ll have automatically kick-started the 30-day deactivation period. This window of time gives you a choice. You can leave the app alone and when the 30 days are up, your account will be deleted. Or, you can reactivate your account within the 30 days just by logging back in with your username and password. Your data will all still be there too — Including your contacts, ‘Memories’, and anything you’ve bought in the app.

FAQs

Why should I delete Snapchat?

Some social media apps remain relevant for years and keep us coming back for more. But there have also been loads of social platforms that have come and gone (shoutout Myspace). A lot of people still use Snapchat, but with the rise of social apps like Tiktok — Snapchat just might have had its day.

And on a more serious note, some social apps like Snapchat are addictive and can affect your mental health. So going cold turkey and deleting it might be the best way of kicking the habit. Plus, there have also been rumours about whether the photos and videos you share on Snapchat are permanently removed after they disappear.

How do I delete Snapchat immediately?

Your Snapchat account can’t be deleted straight away. Your account won’t be fully wiped until you’ve served a 30-day deactivation period. Only after those 30 days will Snapchat start removing your data from its servers. Think of it as a countdown clock!

Can I delete my Snapchat account without waiting 30 days?

No, you can’t. Just don’t log back in during those 30 days if you want to fully delete your Snapchat account. During the 30-day deactivation period, your friends won’t be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat either.

So essentially, from the moment you’ve finished deleting your account — you’ll appear “deleted” to your friends. It’s just that in reality, Snapchat won’t start wiping your profile data until those 30 days are up.

Now that you’ve got rid of Snapchat, maybe it’s time to upgrade your smartphone or tablet? And don’t forget to check out our other TechTalk articles for more advice and tips on top tech!

Related in Tips & updates

Related Article Image
How to share your location on iPhone
Related Article Image
Great apps that make watching football better
Related Article Image
How to find your PUK code
Related Article Image
What is Apple Pay Cash?
Related Article Image
Make the most of Google Maps